Skip to content

Turquoise: A Photo Entry on a Stone Steeped in Tradition and Full of Meaning

July 24, 2009
Some of my favorite pieces

Some of my favorite pieces

I adore turquoise!  Anyone who knows me knows that you will rarely see me without some form of turquoise adorning my body.  Turquoise has been prized as an ornamental stone for millenia by many civilizations including the ancient Egyptians, Mesoamericans, and Native Americans.  In fact, my first exposure to turquoise was at the Austin Powwow my parents took me to every year as a child.  I remember my first piece of jewelry: a delicate turquoise ring (that now fits on my pinky).  I will never forget how special I felt wearing it, knowing so much tradition and culture layed behind the turquoise and coral design.  Today I am still enchanted by the stone and always feel a connection with the artisans who create the pieces I wear.

Newest addition to the collection

Newest addition to the collection

Birthday gift handmade by my sister

Birthday gift handmade by my sister

Great find at Paris boutique

Great find at Paris boutique

Nepalese pendant with Hindi "om"
Nepalese pendant with Tibetan “OM”

 Do you have a favorite something you like to pick up during your travels?  Please share in the comments!

Share

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirby Sander permalink
    July 24, 2009 1:49 pm

    Everywhere I travel I try to find some kind of watercolor or painting of the place that I am visiting. I like pieces that are done by local artists. I write dates on the back, frame them and put them all over my room. It reminds me of all the places I have been and it’s a great decoration that holds significance.

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      July 24, 2009 4:39 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Kirby! That is a great idea, and makes for meaningful decor. I bought several prints from a local artist in Paris a couple years ago and will be doing a post soon about buying art abroad. Would love your take and some pics of what you have bought. Have a fabulous weekend!

  2. July 24, 2009 2:10 pm

    Awesome looking turqoise

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      July 24, 2009 4:40 pm

      Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed the post!

  3. July 24, 2009 4:25 pm

    I collect magnets of wherever I travel.

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      July 24, 2009 4:42 pm

      That’s fun, and what a great reminder of your vacation memories everytime you go to the fridge!

  4. July 24, 2009 4:55 pm

    Hullo there…I love what you are doing, it is just ‘wander’ful..:-)ans so is this piece on turquoise. A suggestion- how about taking photos of the lovely stone with people, in the sense that one gets to see the beauty of the wearer and the stone together..may be close ups of a ring, a necklace and so on and so forth…
    Would love to see ..eagerly awaiting your new piece

    Tata
    V

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      July 24, 2009 11:00 pm

      Thanks for the photography insight. I think the contrast of the turquoise against skin would be gorgeous. Also like the idea of playing with different fabrics and textures. Now all I need is a good model…hmm 🙂 Yes, keep checking back for more photos as I try to figure out this new camera!

  5. char permalink
    July 24, 2009 4:57 pm

    I also enjoy collecting artwork created by local artist and jewelry from local vendors in foreign countries…

    Btw, the turquoise is beautiful!

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      July 24, 2009 10:57 pm

      Thanks so much for your lovely comment! Beginning to see a trend with collecting artwork…like the idea that it serves as conversation piece in your home.

  6. July 27, 2009 4:30 pm

    These are beautiful pieces! I’m having a serious case of turquoise envy right now.

    I always purchase something made by local artisans in whatever destination I visit. I have beautiful prints made by a Paris artist, pottery from Greece, glassware from Prague and Venice, and hand-woven sweaters from Ireland. Of course, my most cherished “souvenirs” are the photographs I take of each destination, many of which have not only made it to my own walls, but into galleries and private collections around the world. (I’m still amazed by this.)

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      July 28, 2009 9:17 am

      Lol! Thanks for the comment, Linda. Your pieces sound beautiful! I am a complete photography freak while on vacation and love to display the photos in my home as well. I would love to see some of your gorgeous photos. I know the ones on parisiensalon.com are beautiful!

  7. July 28, 2009 9:04 am

    Blue glass! Bits and pieces found free on the ground, on the beach; objects in shops and from jewelry vendors. It seems to be all over the world. I’m also a lover of turquoise. I like your blog and site very much.

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      July 28, 2009 9:19 am

      Thanks for the comment, Martha! I like the idea of collecting glass and shells. I bet you could make a beautiful mosaic!

  8. Johna752 permalink
    July 25, 2014 10:24 am

    I loved your post.Much thanks again. eedceedcdddk

Leave a Reply

