Skip to content

“A delivery for you, Miss?”: Feeding My Book Addiction

August 3, 2009
Today's arrivals from Barnes and Noble

Today's arrivals from Barnes and Noble

I admit it!  I have an addiction.  A book addiction.  Since childhood I have been enchanted by books and can quickly become entirely absorbed with the narratives captured on the pages between their covers.  When I was a little girl, a woman in a bookshop stopped me and said something that now seems simple but at the time appeared so enlightening that I wrote it down: “Reading can open you up to whole new worlds and take you to places you’ve never been.” 

So, situated next to my chronic wanderlust, rests inside me a deep-seated love for books and all of the adventures on which they have and continue to take me. 

A Barnes and Noble delivery is like Christmas morning at my house.  Here’s what arrived today:

1. The Geography of Bliss: One Grump’s Search for the Happiest Places in the World by Eric Weiner

I found this months ago when I was looking at the reviews for another book I had read.  Since then, many travellers have endorsed it as something special!  Can’t wait to see for myself.  I am thinking this will be an excellent book for the plane ride to Shanghai.

2. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

I know I’m behind the curve on this one.  Many, many people have recommended this, and some have also ranted about how much they loathe it.  I’m ready to see for myself!

3. Persuasion by Jane Austen

My favorite Jane Austen novel!  I can’t leave for China without a copy, and the gargantuan hard backs I’ve had for years might just put me over the weight limit.  This compact copy will be perfect for travel.

4. P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

Again, I’m behind on this one.  I saw the movie last year and absolutely fell in love.  I knew I had to read the book version!  After all, aren’t the books always better than the movies?

5. Julie & Julia by Julie Powell

I am so excited to see this movie when it hits the silver screen!  I love the idea about being inspired by a cultural icon, especially one as unique as Julia Child.  I know several people have inspired me in a similar way (Hmm, maybe I should write a book too?), and just as Julia inspired Julie, I’m sure Julie Powell will offer something here to inspire us all!

Read a good book lately?  Share in the comments!

Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 9:21 am

    Ooh The Geography of Bliss looks good to me. I am going to check it out! Thanks for all of the suggestions

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      August 4, 2009 12:04 pm

      Thanks for the comment! The Geography of Bliss seems to be at the top of everyone’s list! Anyone who’s read it have a comment?

  2. August 11, 2009 10:22 am

    Those look like some good picks (except Eat, Pray, Love – not my favorite). I love love love my books and just don’t know what to do without them. Recently, I’ve been reading the Bookman mystery series by John Dunning. It’s about … BOOKS!
    I’ve been reading some pretty middling stuff recently, so I’m looking for good stuff myself.

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink
      August 11, 2009 5:41 pm

      I’m always looking for book recommendations. Hoping to post my reviews of some of the above soon.

Leave a Reply

