Skip to content

Ni hao from China!

September 3, 2009

Infront of Shanghai's famous teahouse in Yu Gardens.

I have officially arrived in China and begun my life as an English teacher in Shanghai. I am teaching “kindergartners” (3 to 6 year olds) at two different private schools.

I live just south of the city-center near the Xuhui district. My neighborhood is typical Chinese and very different from the chic and very westernized French Concession district where many of my coworkers live. I am enjoying the location in that I have ampile opportunity to practice Chinese with the locals. My landlady and next door neighboor, whom I can aiyi (Auntie) is wonderful, and as she knows no English, a perfect person with whom to practice.

My apartment is decent, but again, not as nice as many of the expats’. I have made several adjustments, and it is starting to feel like home.

There is so much I have done and seen in the last week, and I think the best way to share is through some pictures:

Shanghai from the highway.

Inside World Financial Center (China's tallest building).

Extra large xiaolongbao (Shanghai's famous soup dumplings).

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 8:06 am

    Lovely pictures! The most I’ve seen of China is from CCTV, so it’s cool to see it from a traveler’s perspective. I like your apartment too: it looks like the company sets up their employees well šŸ™‚

    Looking forward to hearing more of your adventures!

  2. Karen permalink
    September 9, 2009 5:27 pm

    Ashley,

    I’m so excited to hear your first impressions and see your pictures. I am glad that you’ve found an auntie with whom you can speak Chinese.
    What are your students like (ie, how is it to work with such young children in a different language?)

Trackbacks

  1. La Vie en China? Reboot | La Vie en China?

Leave a Reply

