Skip to content

Treasures in my Chinese Kitchen

September 23, 2009

Porcelain found under the sink.

I love the scene in Under the Tuscan Sun when Frances (Diane Lane) has just moved into her newly bought property in Tuscany and is exploring all of the splendors and indiosyncracies it has to offer. I have inherited 10,000 empty wine bottles, one grape, every issue of ‘La Nazione’ printed in 1958, and assorted previous tenants.
Though my apartment didn’t come with any wine or even a grape, I do seem to have inherited various odds and ends from DVDs to what looks to be a Chinese manuscript to some beat-up wires. However, my prize, which I found under the kitchen sink, is a complete blue and white porcelain dining set. I found this treasure in a large cardboard box wrapped in plastic that looked as if it hadn’t been touched in several decades. The cardboard was wet and much of the box mildewed; however, all of the chinaware is in tact and gorgeous. Before I could even go to the store for paper plates or a coffee mug, I had a 50-piece China set complete with bowls, plates, sauce holders, serving spoons, and a casserole dish.
My apartment might not be the most luxurious, but atleast I feel like a queen when I eat my peanut butter and banana sandwiches off my exquiste blue and white china set.

Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 8:31 pm

    What a fantastic treasure! Do you think you’ll take it with you when you leave? The only thing I ever inherited from an old apartment was mold.

Leave a Reply

