Skip to content

Thailand (Part One: Bangkok)

March 5, 2010

I recently had the opportunity to visit Thailand during the Chinese New Year holiday.  We had three weeks free from teaching, and I was itching to escape the cold and dreary Shanghai weather for sunny skies. 

I’ve heard very mixed reviews of Bangkok from most everyone who has ever been.  I quickly concluded this was a city you either love or hate.  During my overall 12-day itenerary, I planned to spend the first three days in Bangkok.  I even had an emergency day trip outside the city on queue in the event I found Bangkok too distasteful.  That said, I was absolutely amazed by how quickly and hard I fell for this city!  Having lived in Shanghai, Paris and Dallas, I would say that I am a big city girl, but I still had my reservations upon arriving in Bangkok.  These were almost immediately wiped away and forgotten due to the friendliness of the people, convenience of the city, fantasticly spicy food, and gorgeous historical architecture (this one really got me)! 

Bangkok is a city of wats (temples), and I spent the majority of my three days exploring the various ones and taking picture after picture of the incredibly intricate and almost whimsical architecture.  I was in art historian paradise!

To understand, I think you need to see for yourself.  Here are some of my favorite temples in the city that won my heart!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 6:06 am

    Wonderful photos, and I am so glad that Bangkok was a good place for you! It’s one place I have never been: I have lived in Dallas and Paris, too, and lived in China — so I have been to Shanghai, also. Thailand is a dream of mine that has yet to be fulfilled. It sounds like it would be a place I would like.

    Xin nian kuai le!! 🙂 Hope your Year of the Tiger rocks!

  2. Aunt Susan Klepper, Cedar Creek Lake, Pinnacle Club, Texas permalink
    March 9, 2010 1:44 pm

    Hello Ashley, The photos are so beautiful and full of life. What a joy for you to be there and take it all in, food, sounds, music, sights and the locals. I am so happy for you that the people are so good to you. Being able to follow in your foot steps, seeing the countries through your eyes, photos and your elaborate writings, I can almost smell and taste it.
    So very happy and proud for you! Aunt Susan

  3. Karen permalink
    March 31, 2010 10:47 am

    My favorite place on earth…

  4. Jane permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:28 am

    Nice blog. I heard they work you to death at your school, perhaps why you haven’t updated for a long time? Cheers! Jane from L.A.

  5. Aunt Susan Bruckbauer Klepper permalink
    June 3, 2010 7:50 am

    Ashley just want you to know I am living and travelling through you on your many adventures. The photo history is breathtaking. I can almost smell the foods, flowers, temples and local air. My senses are on overdrive each time I visit this vibrant country with you. Your photography is captivating. Your journals keep me intrigued and spellbound. I await with suspense until your next adventure finds me here at home on Cedar Creek Lake, SE of Dallas, TX., enduring the humid heat praying for winds and north fronts; all the while savoring your recent adventures. Your dedicated fan…..

  6. Simon permalink
    July 26, 2010 8:06 pm

    Hi, Ashley

    All that I could say about what you have created is ……WOW!!! ……couldn’t find a better word for you 🙂 Anyhow I have been living and working in Thailand for over 10 years now and haven’t find a good reason to go home yet….USA. I have just found the courage to start a small Language school…you are more than welcome to come and visit my little school at anytime…this invite is good to anyone who’s looking to visit Bangkok….will be more than happy to show you all around this wonderful little country

    My school website will be up and running soon ,I will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

