Skip to content

Introducing: Cambodia!

May 27, 2013

Exploring elaborate royal palaces and urban temples dedicated to Shiva, Vishnu, and Buddha…floating past working villages on the Tongle Sap River…petting gibbons and feeding an elephant named Lucky…learning about the Khmer Rouge and Cambodia’s tragic past…traipsing through majestic jungle complexes with intricate carvings and a splendid history…gorging on papaya salad and fish amok…experiencing the warmth and generosity of the Cambodian people.

These are just some of the memories we made in Cambodia, a country I will not soon forget.

DSC_0141DSC_0535DSC_0826

I am very excited to start the coverage of our time in Cambodia this week.  WWW and I spent 9 days in the country over the holidays, and it was incredible to discover Angkor Wat on Christmas morning and watch an aspara dance show Christmas night.

WWW and I at Ta Som entry gate

WWW and I at Ta Som entry gate

We did and saw so many new and extraordinary things that I am still processing it all months later.  I hope I can find the words to share our journey.  For now, I’ll leave you with some of my favorite photos from the trip.

View of Phnom Penh from the river.

View of Phnom Penh from the river.

Making a new friend, Lucky, at Phnom Tamao Zoo.

Making a new friend, Lucky, at Phnom Tamao Zoo.

Monumental faces at Bayon Temple.

Monumental faces at Bayon Temple.

Extremely detailed carvings at Banteay Srei.

Extremely detailed carvings at Banteay Srei.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing by using one of the social media buttons below!  You can also subscribe to receive updates from La Vie en China? via email (using the subscribe button above) or the RSS feed reader of your choice.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2013 9:24 am

    Oh wow, you got up close with an elephant! Awesome!

    We just arrived in PP this morning. Real change of pace from SR.

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink*
      May 27, 2013 9:41 am

      Yes, we also took note of how different PP is from SR. While I loved seeking Angkor, I think PP allowed us to see more of Cambodian life outside the lens of tourism.
      We took a tour of the Phnom Tamao Zoological Park and Wildlife Rescue Center as a day trip from PP (about 45kms away). I recommend it if you have the time. They are affiliated with several legitimate international wildlife organizations and the animals are well cared for unlike many “zoos” in Asia. We used the Betelnut Jeep Tour company, which I recommend for a more “behind the scenes” look at the park and getting to feed Lucky!

  2. May 28, 2013 11:36 pm

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.I have joinedyour rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

    by 迷你寫字樓

Trackbacks

  1. Cambodia – Phnom Penh | Purple's Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

