Skip to content

Throwback Thursday: Railay Beach (February 2010)

June 13, 2013

I’ve appropriated the recent social media rage #throwbackthursday to start a new weekly series!  Throwback Thursdays share pictures and information from some of my earlier travels between 2007 and 2010 that have yet to make it onto this site.  After a long blogging hiatus, this series is to catch you, my readers, up on these past travels, while using the rest of the blog to recount my more recent trips.

If you’ve been following me on twitter, you know that I am in Thailand this week.  WWW and I just arrived today on Koh Samui, where we’ll be vegging out at the Fair House Villas and taking a tour of Ang Thong National Park.  For today, I thought I’d share some photos of my first encounter with Thailand’s beaches in Krabi Province.

Longtail boats along Railay Beach.

Longtail boats along Railay Beach.

Hello, most gorgeous place in the world!

During my time in Krabi, I stayed on Ao Nang Beach which is a resort town filled with many dining and shopping options.  While the beach here is rather mediocre, the location of my hotel was a 2 min walk from the spot where longtail boats depart for the stunning tourist haven, Railay Beach.

Longtail boats floating near shore on Ao Nang.

Longtail boats floating near shore on Ao Nang.

The ride between the two islands is quick and quite scenic.  Along the way, you pass, rising out of the clear aqua waters, the many karst mountains that have made this part of Thailand famous among international travelers.

Thailand 814Thailand 830Thailand 812

Railay has several nice beaches along the perimeter of the island, but it is perhaps most well-known for some of the best rock climbing in the world (something this scaredy cat certainly wasn’t going to partake in).

Thailand 836Thailand 869

Instead, I was more interested in lounging while sipping a cold drink and exploring the trails that cut across the island and connect the beaches on either side.

Also, I am rather entranced with the picturesque longtail boats and indulged in a nice long photo shoot of them.

Thailand 835Thailand 847

As someone who tends to prefer exploring cities of highrises or towns filled with ancient temples, one day relaxing on Railay was perfect.  And, while I would definitely not qualify as a the typical beach bum, the irresistible views of southern Thailand have drawn me back like a siren’s song.

Have you been to southern Thailand?  Which islands and beaches are your favorite?

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing by using one of the social media buttons below!  You can also subscribe to receive updates from La Vie en China? via email (using the subscribe button above) or the RSS feed reader of your choice.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2013 5:23 am

    I love love LOVE Ao Nang and Railay! I did a week in southern Thailand in Oct 2011 and we spent four days in Krabi and it was our favorite — I even tried rock climbing on Railay and got hooked on it, it’s such a great place to learn to climb! We loved it so much, it’s on the top of the list of places we’re considering getting married 🙂

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink*
      June 17, 2013 5:38 am

      I really need to get over my fear of heights and try rock climbing. I did go cave kayaking when I was there, if that adds to my cred at all! 🙂

      Does this mean you will be having a “destination” (quotes given your serial expat status) wedding?

      • June 18, 2013 7:42 am

        Haha yes we’ll be having a destination wedding, which is easy enough to do as no matter where we hold it, it will be a destination for at least someone’s half of the family!

  2. June 20, 2013 2:54 am

    What a beautiful spot! We haven’t made it to Thailand yet but everyone who goes raves about it! I’d love to get my hands on all of those rock climbing opportunities. Thanks for the throwback 🙂 I’m glad I found this!

    • Ashley Bruckbauer permalink*
      June 20, 2013 3:50 am

      Thanks, Dan! You guys definitely need to see Thailand while you are in Asia! It might be my favorite country thus far (so hard to choose!), but we are heading to Taipei tomorrow which everyone says is the China I’ve always dreamed of.

Leave a Reply

